How long is the Florida parenting class?
A Florida parenting class must be four hours long pursuant to 61.21(2), Florida Statutes. But you can pause the class whenever you want. Start now. Finish when it’s convenient to you.
Is a parenting class required for divorce in Florida?
Every parent in a Florida divorce involving minor children must complete a parenting class pursuant to 61.21(5), Florida Statutes. The parents must file proof of class completion with the court.
What is a parenting plan in Florida?
A parenting plan details how parents will make decisions about their child after the divorce and includes a time-sharing schedule. A time-sharing schedule specifies when a child will spend time with each parent.
How much does your Florida parenting class cost?
The cost of our class is $24.99. There is NO additional cost to receive your completion certificate by email. Your certificate is emailed to you for free when you finish the class. (Some online classes charge $5 - $10 to email you the completion certificate. We do not.)
Why take the parenting class online?
It's more convenient than a live class. Taking the class online allows you to: avoid missing work; avoid paying for a babysitter; avoid the search for a live class that works with your schedule; avoid the drive to a live parenting class; avoid the public embarrassment of a live class; avoid hearing the gory details of someone else’s divorce or separation; and avoid having the teacher ask you in front of a group of strangers about the details of your own personal life.
Is this course approved by the Florida Department of Children and Families?
Yes. DCF has approved this online parenting class. A copy of the approval letter from DCF may be found here.
Is this course approved in my county in Florida?
Some counties will not accept an online parenting class, even though it is approved by DCF. To verify the online parenting class is accepted in your county, please ask your attorney or contact your local clerk of court domestic relations division. You can find the contact information for your circuit court here.
Do I need to go to your office to sign up or complete the course?
No. The course is completely online. You may register now by clicking here.
How do I receive the course completion certificate?
We email your certificate to you in PDF format when you complete the class. Just print out the certificate and file it with the court.
What is the cost to mail me a printed certificate?
$4.99. You have the option to purchase a printed, mailed certificate on the course completion page.
What is your refund policy?
Your purchase price will be refunded only if the court refuses to accept our online Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course. To obtain a refund, please provide written documentation from the court that our class was not accepted by the court (including your case number and the county where your case is pending) and your purchase will be refunded. Refunds are not granted for any other reason. Simply email a PDF of the documents from the court to us at [email protected].
Does this course provide mental health therapy?
The components of the parenting course are intended for educational purposes only. The presentation of this material is not intended to constitute mental health therapy, give information on specific mental health disorders nor medications to treat mental health disorders. Participants are encouraged to discuss specific mental health questions with a licensed mental health therapist of their choice.
Does this course provide legal advice?
The legal component of the parenting course provides only general Florida family law principles. The presentation of this material is not intended to constitute legal advice. The participant should consult with a licensed attorney for answers to specific legal questions. This course is not a substitute for consulting with an attorney.
How do I contact the course provider if I have other questions?
Please contact the course provider here or at [email protected].
Can I pay for one class and have the other parent take it with me so that we don't have to pay for two separate classes?
No. Each person must pay for his or her own separate class. One student per fee paid.
Can you put the names of both parents on one certificate?
No. Each certificate will have only one name on it: the name of the individual who took the class.